Pets Keepers Guide Forums
Can you toilet train a cat? - Printable Version

+- Pets Keepers Guide Forums (http://petskeepersguide.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Mammal Forum (http://petskeepersguide.com/forums/Forum-Mammal-Forum)
+--- Forum: Cat Forum (http://petskeepersguide.com/forums/Forum-Cat-Forum)
+--- Thread: Can you toilet train a cat? (/Thread-Can-you-toilet-train-a-cat)

Can you toilet train a cat? - crackerjack9 - 08-25-2013

My cat will not step into the litter box when he uses it. He perches all 4 feet on the side of it! I was thinking how I wish I could get him to do that on the toilet instead. I know I've heard of cats being toilet trained but has anyone here actually done it?

RE: Can you toilet train a cat? - ohiotom76 - 09-02-2013

I haven't done it myself, but I've seen videos of cats doing it online. I suppose it can be done, but I've never tried to train an older cat before. Our cats are approximately 3-4 years old now, so I don't know how much luck we would have getting them to do this. The other thing is I'm not sure if I would like them doing this either. On one hand it would be convenient, but on the other hand, what if you had guests over and the cat stopped in and left a "present" before one of your guests used the restroom.

RE: Can you toilet train a cat? - Whitney - 09-03-2013

Cats are funny aren't they with all their little mannerisms. I have never had a cat do that, but yes I did see it online. I used to mostly encourage my cats to go outside when they needed to go, we had a cat door for them to get in and out, however at night time I would put out litter and keep them inside. I never had one that would perch on the side of the litter box. That being said you can teach cats to do certain things, it just takes time and patience and it is a lot more difficult than training a dog.