LoginRegister

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My rabbit the fussy eater.
09-12-2012, 06:12 PM,
Julie Offline

Threads: 8
My rabbit the fussy eater.
As well as being an escape artist - nadine is a very fussy eater. i'm not a rabbit expert - Nadine is my first. I saw her huddled on the white line in the middle of a busy road - so I stopped the traffic and took brought the little time thief home with me.

Anyway - my brother has a friend who is mad-about-rabbits, has 6 of them and over the years has had dozens.

She confirmed for me that Nadine is officially a fussy eater.

I took her to the vet the day after I found her and he explained the idela diet to me - ie: mainly straw, various tyoes mixed up; lots of greens and good quality pellets to make sure she gets all the nutrients.

To my knowledge, in the 3 months since I've had her, Nadine has nibbled ONE pellet and spurned the rst (I've tried 3 brands now).

She will eat meadow straw with flowers and straw with lavender flowers - both of which I can buy at the local bio garden centre, and both of which are much more expensive than a big bag of Timothy hay (which I have and which I mix in with the above, but which gets slept on).

She loves clover - fortunately I live on a mountain which is full of clover. So, each dog walk I take a bag a pick loads of the stuff for her.

She also likes a few other flowers that I can pick on our walks. She loves melon, does not like carrots, carrot greens or lettuce.

She also loves herbs - parsley and basil being her favourite.

I did try just giving her timothy hay and pellets with a few fresh greens. She barely ate anything for a day and a half ! Just drank water.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2013, 10:28 PM,
Yatte Offline

Threads: 8
RE: My rabbit the fussy eater.