Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tiny Turtle
02-08-2013, 07:34 AM,
hokiemama Offline
Registered

Threads: 2
Tiny Turtle
About a year ago my kids found a tiny little turtle in the back yard. We looked it up on the internet and decided it was a baby water turtle, put a tank together for him, and named him Scooter. We have loved having him around. The kids feed him and watch him swim around the tank. My question/problem is that he is still super tiny. He has barely grown in the year we have had him. I called the pet store and they said I have the wrong kind of light on him and am stunting his growth. So, what I want to know is have I harmed him by not letting him grow? Do I HAVE to get the UV light or should I just keep it how it is?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2013, 07:22 PM,
Fishbone Offline

Threads: 28
RE: Tiny Turtle
I will start this off by saying I am not a turtle expert. But, two things here.

1. Turtles of almost all species do not grow quickly. So, it is nothing like having another type of reptile, much less a kitten or puppy. Most "full grown" sized turtles, of whatever species, are over 15 years old. And even if badly kept, most turtles will live for 10 - 20 years. well kept, 50+ years.

2. You should get UVB on the turtle. It will help him be a healthier animal. There are various problems that can result, pyramiding for example. But, in difference to animals like bearded dragons and iguanas, since they live so long, and take so long to grow, the effects at this point are not necessarily detrimental.

The first thing you should do, is figure out what actual species of turtle you have. "Water turtle" could describe hundreds of species of turtle. Where do you live? Where did you find him? DO you have any pictures?