LoginRegister

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Adding a Kitten with a Doormat Cat
01-08-2014, 07:22 PM,
Audsauce Offline

Threads: 3
Question  Adding a Kitten with a Doormat Cat
I have a sweet Bombay runt named Jane. She's 4 years old, and a total sweetheart. She's also a pretty anxious kitty. She was put into the shelter soon after she was born (Jane is a runt and slightly off breed, so not 'valuable' enough to keep Dodgy ), and I get the sense that she was bullied by bigger, more aggressive cats in the shelter.

We've had her for two years now, and she's well acclimated to our family of 3 adults. We fostered a bunny for a few months, and she never displayed anything more than vague curiosity toward it. For a couple of weeks, she shared quarters with my mom's cat, a hand raised (and grouchy) Maine Coon named Bella. It seemed like Jane wanted to be friends, but Bella didn't. Such is life. Gen068

My roommate is considering getting a kitten. Jane has done well with other pets, but I've never acclimated a cat to a baby cat before. Are there any specific things I should or shouldn't do?

My biggest concern is that the kitten will be larger than her, or quickly outgrow her, and bully her. She's kind of a pushover. Is there anything I can do to facilitate a friendly relationship between the two? I don't want my Jane to get steamrollered like she did in the shelter! Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2014, 07:06 AM,
Roseary Offline

Threads: 4
RE: Adding a Kitten with a Doormat Cat
I think extensive research through the internet and pet stores may be the most useful in these situations just to be safe. I can tell you though, when I was getting a new kitten the way I went about it was getting them familiar with each others scents first.