LoginRegister

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thinking about getting a bird-
02-23-2012, 11:50 AM,
Onyx Offline

Threads: 25
Thinking about getting a bird-
I haven't had a bird in YEARS but recently have been toying with the idea of having one again.

As a kid, we had a cockateil, and before him- a parakeet.

As a college student I had a monk parakeet that my roomate left behind. The bird HATED me to the extent that once I was moving, since he got along with the latest roomate I had I left him with her Smile

For about 3 years I kept a friends moluccan cockatoo. Very nice, but with the changes in the house I don't have room for a large cage. Once he returned home with his owner I REALLY missed him, but his owner was back from overseas and I knew they deserved to be reunited.

About 6 years ago I took in a splay legged english budgie and kept him through his lifetime, though due to his severe deformities his lifespan was shortened to just 3 years once his quality of life started to fail.

I hate to admit this, but after losing Chance (the boy mentioned above) I bought a pair of Gouldian Finches. Very short stint here, one passed away almost immediatly after I got her home and as the male started to mourn the loss of her I took him back to the breeder, explaining the situation.

So now, I'm considering another bird. I have to admit, I like the parakeets and saw a nice one once at Petco- a pure yellow with red eyes. It was a beauty! I didnt buy it right away and before I decided fully, it was sold.

Anyhow, Im tentatively thinking about looking at getting a parakeet, unless two is a better choice Smile

I have nothing yet for a bird and figure that if I decide to go this route I'd buy a bit at a time so I can do it right and be prepared beforehand.