LoginRegister

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How I teach my dog patience
07-09-2016, 12:57 PM,
joshposh Offline

Threads: 2
How I teach my dog patience
I'm not a professional dog trainer nor have I ever taken any courses on dog behavior. I just want to make that clear in case you were wondering what my background is. I learn through trial and error like most of you.

How do I teach patience? Took me awhile to figure out that one out as dogs do not know what you are saying. They might understand word association and gestures, but to formulate ideas based off a complex language, forget it. Well, not my dog anyways.

I'll take a simple example of everyday life with my best friend. A dog will show anxiousness when he wants something. Some dogs cry, some bark, others will scratch and bite at the door until the get what they want. 

I took a simple daily chore like walking out of the house to take him on a stroll as a way to teach patience. My dog loves walks. He loves it so much that once I pick up his leash he's jumping up and down for joy. When this happens, I don't put the leash on him. That is encouraging a behavior that is unwarranted. I sit down and wait for him to calm down, and then tell him to turn around and sit. Eventually, he knows what that means and will respond accordingly. From there we walk to the front door. I will not open the door until he perform the desired action that I taught him earlier. He needs to sit and wait for me to open the door. When we walk out of the door, again he has to sit and wait for me to close the door. If he responds correctly, we then go far a walk. At anytime during the process if he pauses and forgets the sequence, I give him a few seconds. If that doesn't work I tell him to sit and tug on the leash. 9 out of 10 times it works perfectly.